The output of committee work represents the essence of COPAS. All COPAS publications are developed within Standing Committees with each committee assuming responsibility for researching and reporting areas of interest to the Board of Directors and Council. The specific objectives and duties for each committee are defined by the committee and approved by the board. See a Status Report of Current Projects.

Standing Committees:

Audit Committee Dalin Error, chair  -Audit Committee Charter 
Education Committee  Carole Tear, chair  -Education Committee Charter 
Financial Reporting Mary Frances Hermes, chair -Financial Reporting Committee Charter
Joint Interest Committee  Jonathon Beene, chair  -Joint Interest Committee Charter 
Revenue Committee  Tree Thee, chair  -Revenue Committee Charter 
Small Oil and Gas Companies Committee  Nancy Brown, chair  -Small Oil and Gas Companies Committee Charter 



Emerging Issues Subcommittee (Audit) Kevin Launchbaugh, chair
Vehicle Rates Subcommittee (Joint Interest) Mike Cougevan, chair
Employee Benefits Subcommittee (Joint Interest) Dawn Ferik, chair
Materials Subcommittee (Joint Interest) Don Porter, chair
Bureau of Land Management Subcommittee (Revenue) Trey Thee, chair
Fed Regulatory Affairs Subcommittee (Revenue) Marvinette Ponder, chair
Midstream / Downstream Committee (Revenue) Charlie Stovall, chair
Non-Regulatory Subcommittee (Revenue) Holly Green and Roger Good, chairs
State Regulatory Affairs Subcommittee (Revenue) Bob Wilkinson, chair


Special & Other Committees:

APA® Board of Examiners Vicki Cromer, chair
Bylaws Doug Smith, chair
CEE Steering Committee Wade Hopper, chair
Computerized Equipment Pricing System (CEPS) Control Panel Ryan Woolery, chair
COPAS Meeting Advisory Committee Mary Frances Hermes, chair
COPAS Mentoring Advisory Committee Tammy Miller-Davison and Charlie Stovall, chairs
Editorial Committee Tom Wierman, chair
Leadership Handbook Advisory Committee Deanna Duell-Smed, chair
Membership & Society Support Doug Smith, chair
Nominating Committee Jeff Wright, chair
Research & Advisory Committee Jeff Wright, chair
Social Media Moderator Deanna Duell-Smed, chair


2016 Industry Liaisons:

American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL) Karla Bower
American Petroleum Institute (API) Audit Committee Tom Wierman
American Petroleum Institute (API) Royalty Committee Pam Williams
Desk & Derrick Carolyn Sczepanski
Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (USEITI) David Romig
Institute of Petroleum Accounting Board Carolyn Sczepanski
John Jolly Memorial Fund Carolyn Sczepanski
National Association of Division Order Analysts (NADOA) Jan Hibbing
National Oil and Gas Schools (NOGS) Steering Committee Deanna Duell-Smed